My Favorite Catskills Photo of Me

16 Oct

Summer 1957

There are many reasons why I have always Loved this photo. First it was taken in the Catskills when I was 2 1/2. I am blissfully happy sitting in the grass. I love seeing the old wooden outdoor furniture.  I know that bench is Blue. I spent many hours on it over the years. 

I love seeing the women on the bench. The one to the far left is my maternal grandmother. She and my grandfather owned the bungalow colony. And with many family members there, I was surrounded by love. To be honest I am not sure who the other woman is, but I think it is my aunt.  I love that bench as my paternal grandmother taught me to knit and crochet as we sat on it when I was about seven or eight. 

I love that my aunt’s feet are resting on that single chair, as I know she is really relaxing. They mothers only put their feet up when they were settled in for a rest.  There is another chair to my side. It indicates to me that there is a square table to my side as well … the table where my grandmothers, great aunt and their friend spent endless hours playing canasta. 

Further on I see some of the white painted bungalows. This was the original colony. Eventually my grandparents purchased more land and moved some of the buildings. Only two of the original bungalows still exist. The land has been sold off and newer homes were erected. Two of my cousins purchased some of the land, so I am fortunate that I can still walk this property. 

I love how I look in this photo. I remember my Dad telling me that this was his favorite picture of me as a child because in this photo he could finally see how I would look as an adult. But I also love it for the curl in the middle of my forehead. I had and still have thick, curly hair. I cannot tell how often one of my parents would recite this poem to me: “There was a little girl who had a little curl right in the middle of her forehead. When she was good she was very, very good But when she was bad she was horrid.” 

I know that hat and outfit. It was red and white. Because of my black hair my mom often dressed me in red. I rarely wear red now. Blue is my favorite color. But when I envision myself as a child I am often in red or pink. But that hat I specifically remember. I must have worn it for several years before my younger sister was born and she have the chance to wear it. 

I wish I knew what was in the box I am holding. I am sure it is crackers or cereal. But I wish the front of the box was facing out. It would add to the memory. I guess it does not matter.  Whenever I see this photo, I am filled with joy. I am in my happy place. Our home in Kauneonga Lake, in the Catskills where summers were always delightful.  

8 Responses to “My Favorite Catskills Photo of Me”

  1. Amy October 16, 2017 at 8:43 am #

    It is an adorable photo! I love that both your maternal and paternal grandmothers were there. Were they friends with each other? That is special—to have both sides together like that.

    • zicharon October 16, 2017 at 8:46 am #

      Every summer I had all four of my grandparents as well as a great aunt and an aunt and uncle and their three boys. We, the cousins, are still very close.

      • Amy October 16, 2017 at 10:45 am #

        You were so lucky! But I know you know that. 🙂

      • zicharon October 16, 2017 at 11:22 am #

        Thanks. I do know. It was a blissful and happy time.

  2. Sherry October 16, 2017 at 9:05 am #

    Hi. Happiness and smiling and laughing!! Children’s librarian, grandfather, Books!!

    • zicharon October 16, 2017 at 9:06 am #

      Yes. Glad you liked it.

  3. Luanne @ TFK October 16, 2017 at 7:09 pm #

    Adorable. How wonderful to have such a closeknit family.

    • zicharon October 16, 2017 at 7:19 pm #

      It was a great childhood!

Leave a Reply

